MAIN
NEW THREADS
AD SPOT

at3 disguised as atx, brand new site, fake toplist listings
Protect-X Forum >> General adult webmaster talks
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Author Message
rhino



Joined: 23 Dec 2006
Posts: 70
Rank: 12

PostPosted: 10 Jul 2007 21:35    Post subject: at3 disguised as atx, brand new site, fake toplist listings Reply with quote

Just curious what your thoughts are about a trader that tries to hide the fact that they use ATL3 (free script) by disguising it as atx (paid commercial version).

Probably should add the same trader displays trades in their toplist that are correctly set up (clicking on the top list does go to the site)... just doesn't sign up at the other site (had 6 of my sites so I could verify the no signup on my other sites). And it's a brand new site (registered July-05-2007 - 5 day old site, per domaintools.com (& still listed there as Domain Status: Registered And No Website).

Stupid newbie or damn thorough cheater that knows the value of first impressions & eye candy? Either way it makes my personal blacklist as it broke my trade rules, but wondering how others see this type of trader/trade model.

Rhino
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fatfoo



Joined: 02 Dec 2006
Posts: 269
Rank: 44
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: 10 Jul 2007 21:51    Post subject: Reply with quote

sounds suspicous,

but maybe he just added your trades, but didnt sign up in your trade form yet, because he was going to do it later?


And how do you know he disguised the script?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
BOOM



Joined: 13 Feb 2007
Posts: 181
Rank: 13
Location: Orillia, Ontario

PostPosted: 10 Jul 2007 22:41    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Rhino,

I agree with Fatfoo "sounds suspicous".
Bad way to start a new trade on lies!!!

Cheers,
Jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rhino



Joined: 23 Dec 2006
Posts: 70
Rank: 12

PostPosted: 10 Jul 2007 23:36    Post subject: Reply with quote

ATL3 script is installed to ./cgi-bin/atx/ (default install path for Arrow Trader's ATX script) rather then at3 or some other variation. Suppose it could be the webmaster looking ahead to an eventual script upgrade.

Pissed me off a bit to see my sites in someone's toplist (that show as good trades in P-X) and kniow I don't trade with the site. Probably didn't help when I checked his toplist against the P-X and cheaterhell DB, and got multiple hitbot returns on his trades from cheaterhell, and about 1/2 unverified trades through P-X.

@ BOOM - that's my first impression as well, really wondering how others view this form of site building.

Rhino
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eonblue



Joined: 22 Feb 2007
Posts: 41

Location: Canada

PostPosted: 11 Jul 2007 03:33    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds fishy to me. Sounds like he is just padding his toplist with legit sites to make himself look legit.
_________________
Traffic Trades - Gallery Submissions
Hardlink Exchange
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xwild



Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 576
Rank: 35

PostPosted: 11 Jul 2007 04:52    Post subject: Reply with quote

mask of the elephant men!

what is the URL =

Please advise and thank you! Rhino!

Your Amigo XWILD!..

the Ensenada Cantinero..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rhino



Joined: 23 Dec 2006
Posts: 70
Rank: 12

PostPosted: 11 Jul 2007 18:29    Post subject: Reply with quote

X-Wild - I didn't post the URL because I was looking for comments on the process, rather than pointing fingers at a specific site.

FWIW, 24 hrs later the site displays in Protect-X's Check Trader's function as a good trade/blue button (which seems a bit odd as it also displays as Not Found in their base, system blacklist, or users blacklists).

At face it's starting to look like it's nothing sinister, just an attempt to put the best face on a new site using IMO questionable methods to shortcut normal traffic building by jumping to the top spot on his trade partners toplist (and just missed the step about adding the trade on the other end)... Doesn't really explain why the traffic is 1 way, but I'm not hurt as the notrade skim sends a higher % to trades and those other sites that I can personally check don't seem to be having any issue with the traffic forwarded. Hummm, maybe just a strange twist on backtracking a trade partners toplist to find new trades and the toplist used as a model had some pre-existing bad trade issues.

Rhino
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rhino



Joined: 23 Dec 2006
Posts: 70
Rank: 12

PostPosted: 11 Jul 2007 23:08    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dred wrote:
He seems to know that there a few BIG webmasters that won't trade with a site using free version scripts, another reason to hide his atl3?

There a bunch of webmasters that have networks of sites and will absolutely NOT trade with sites using free versions of a TGP script or trade script. Both have to be paid versions or no trade.


That explanation makes the most sense, especially given the site uses a licensed (no linkback) copy of Smart-Thumbs 5.

Rhino
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
max



Joined: 18 Oct 2006
Posts: 538
Rank: 38

PostPosted: 12 Jul 2007 14:11    Post subject: Reply with quote

rhino wrote:
Doesn't really explain why the traffic is 1 way


just a hitbot trying to receive some traffic back IMO. Trusted trader would not send a lot of his traffic without receiving any feedback. Also receiving a little of top list clicks also doesn't look surprising for me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
 
Jump to:  
Page 1 of 1

 
ADVERTISEMENT

ImLive Cam Adult sponsor


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Blocked registrations / posts: 0 / 0